OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 29, 2012) -
Product photos are available at http://bit.ly/SrwbFE
The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) and Lennie Ciglen Distribution Inc. are warning people with allergies to milk not to consume the Dairy-free Vegan Candy Bars described below. The affected products may contain milk which is not declared on the label.
All lot codes of the following Dairy-free Vegan Candy Bars, product of USA, are affected by this alert:
||Peanut Butter Cups
||8 99033 00204 0
||8 99033 00203 3
||8 99033 00205 7
||8 99033 00202 6
||8 99033 00200 2
||8 99033 00201 9
These products are known to have been distributed in Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec and may have been distributed nationally.
There have been no reported illnesses associated with the consumption of these products.
Consumption of these products may cause a serious or life-threatening reaction in persons with allergies to milk.
The importer, Lennie Ciglen Distribution Inc., Toronto, Ontario is voluntarily recalling the affected products from the marketplace. The CFIA is monitoring the effectiveness of the recall.
For more information, consumers and industry can call the CFIA at 1 800 442-2342 / TTY 1 800 465-7735 (8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Eastern time, Monday to Friday).
For information the most common food allergens, visit the Food Allergens web page at: http://www.inspection.gc.ca/english/fssa/labeti/allerg/allerge.shtml.
For information on all food recalls, visit the CFIA's Food Recall Report at: http://active.inspection.gc.ca/eng/corp/recarapp_dbe.asp.
To find out more about receiving recalls by e-mail, and other food safety facts, visit: www.foodsafety.gc.ca. Food and consumer product recalls are also available at http://www.healthycanadians.gc.ca.